Ceramics: Nerikomi - Color and Pattern in Porcelain (Spring 2018)

Nerikomi, a ceramic technique for colored porcelain, is a unique fusion of color, pattern and form.  The Japanese name translates from “neri,” meaning “kneading,” and “komi,” meaning “into”—describing the process: pigments are mixed into wet clay, integrating the color throughout rather than painting it onto the surface.  Different colored clays are layered and compressed to construct a solid block with a pattern running through the inside.  Ranging from simple stripes to marbled swirls to intricate images, the design is revealed when the block is sliced in a cross section.  These pieces of patterned clay can be shaped and formed to create pottery or sculpture with striking visual effects that could not be achieved using any other technique.    

This class will include weekly demos, instruction, and the opportunity to practice and personalize a series of new colored clay techniques.  I will show how to color the clay and we will learn some hand-building methods of pattern construction, color blending, lamination, inlay, and experimental processes.  Explore the many possibilities of nerikomi and discover how colored clay can add a new dimension to your ceramic artwork!

Level: Intermediate

Date Summary: 
10 Thursdays, 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm, starts 4/5
10 Weeks
Thursday 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Member Tuition: 
Non-Member Tuition: 
Materials Fee: 
Materials fee will be added to the tuition when you check out.
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 6:30pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 6:30pm
Class will not meet on April 19